

January 27, 2017

For Immediate Release

Contact: Megan Grandgeorge 515-243-4660 megan@varietyiowa.com

43rd Annual Variety Telethon March 4 and 5

Local, national and international personalities come together at Variety – the Children's Charity's 43rd Annual Telethon Saturday, March 4 and Sunday, March 5 for a shared cause; improving the lives of children in Iowa.

Variety Telethon is an entertainment showcase that serves as Variety's largest fundraiser. The Telethon also allows Variety to highlight the children, <u>programs</u> and organizations that benefit from Variety's support. In addition to cast performances, Variety hosts specialized bike presentations and interviews organizations that receive Variety grants.

The Variety Telethon is broadcast live on Local 5 We Are Iowa from Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center in downtown Des Moines from 7:00 p.m. to Midnight on Saturday, March 4 and 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Sunday, March 5. The public is invited to stop by and see the talent showcase live and meet the <u>cast</u>. Craft activities for kids will also be available.

Contributions can be made before, during and after the telethon by visiting <u>varietyiowa.com/telethon</u> or calling 844-414-KIDS (5437).

Variety is dedicated to improving the lives of underprivileged, at-risk and special needs children throughout lowa. Funding is provided to programs and initiatives that directly impact the wellbeing of children in our community. For more information on how you can be a part of our work, please visit varietyiowa.com

####

Editor's Note: Final Telethon "Toteboard" numbers will be available at 6:15 p.m. Sunday, March 5. Please contact Megan at 515.991.0090 (cell) or megan@varietyiowa.com for the final amount raised and a "Toteboard Total" photo. Honorary Chairs Deb & George Milligan President Steve Hauschilt VP of Operations Kirk Besh

VP of Development Mike Crowley

VP of Marketing Susan Hatten

VP of Finance Michael Hamilton Immediate Past

President Dan Wilcox Board of Directors

Mollie Baker John Cardamone Chris Carrow Peter Cartwright Tim Coonan Tom Cox Reynolds Cramer Josh Ehlen Tim Fricke Lance Gardner Cyndi Harmeyer-Fisher Mitch Harris Tom Hobt Cheryl Howard Ryan Jensen Kolby Jones John Leder Lisa Logan Jordan McCann Andrew Noga Tom Nucaro Mike Nunez Gabe Olson Adam Petersen Liz Proctor Mike Richards Ryan Roberts Megan Ruble Don Seibel Vicki Signor Charlie Taylor Dawn Taylor Kirk Tibbetts Kevin Tiernan **Rick Tierney** Emily Toribio Waleed Wadi Therese Wielage Hal Wilson

Past International Presidents Mike Reilly

Jody Reynolds Stanley J. Reynolds

International Vice President Stan W. Reynolds

Past Variety of the United States President Stan W. Reynolds

Executive Director Sheri McMichael

variety the children's charity of iowa

505 5th Avenue, Suite 310 Des Moines, Iowa 50309 Tel 515.243.4660 fax 515.243.5873