Press Releases

Friday, October 27, 2017
Fareway Stores, Inc. recently conducted a round up at the register to support Variety – the Children’s Charity. Donations were collected from Monday, Oct. 2 through Saturday, Oct.... Read more
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Fareway Stores, Inc. has partnered with Variety – the Children’s Charity to conduct the third annual round up at the register from Monday, October 2 through Saturday, October... Read more
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Variety - the Children’s Charity is granting $2,428,257 to 70 Iowa children’s charities this year. Today, 54 charities will receive their grants at the Fred Maytag II Scout... Read more
Friday, July 14, 2017
Variety – the Children’s Charity is proud to announce it will begin work on its second all-inclusive Star Playground in Des Moines. Variety’s newest playground will be located at Riverview... Read more
Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Variety- the Children’s Charity will be awarding 150 bikes, locks and helmets to underprivileged and at-risk children during RAGBRAI 2017.     As part of Variety’s Bikes for Kids program, Variety has teamed up... Read more
Friday, May 5, 2017
Variety – the Children’s Charity of Iowa received the Variety Heart Award Thursday, May 4, at the 77th Variety International Conference awards gala in Atlanta, Georgia. The... Read more
Monday, April 24, 2017
Variety – the Children’s Charity has completed a $475,000 campaign and is scheduled to break ground on the 9,600 square foot, all-inclusive Variety Star Playground in Noelridge Park on May... Read more
Monday, January 30, 2017
Find your valentine early this year at the 6th annual Des Moines Sweetheart Charity Date Auction! This year's auction is Saturday, February 4, from 6:00 p.m. to... Read more