Press Releases

Wednesday, May 9, 2018
  Variety - the Children’s Charity is pleased to announce the fifth annual HERO Campaign – a fundraising effort to help improve the lives of children in Eastern... Read more
Thursday, May 3, 2018
  For an unprecedented second year in a row, Variety – the Children’s Charity of Iowa received the Variety Heart Award on Thursday, May 4, at the 78th Variety... Read more
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Sip, Sample and Savor Saturday, April 14, at Savor Des Moines, an evening of culinary sampling featuring appetizers and cocktails from the best restaurants in... Read more
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Local, national and international personalities come together at Variety – the Children’s Charity’s 44th Annual Telethon Saturday, March 3 and Sunday, March 4 for... Read more
Monday, January 29, 2018
Find your valentine early this year at the 7th annual Des Moines Sweetheart Charity Date Auction! This year's auction is Saturday, February 10, from 6:00 p.m.... Read more
Monday, January 22, 2018
Variety- the Children’s Charity’s Black Tie gala, “New York, New York” kicked off 2018 by raising $148,000 to support Iowa children.     The gala was... Read more
Thursday, December 14, 2017
Variety – the Children’s Charity raised $119,182 during its two-day radiothon, Two Days of Compassion. Funds are raised annually to fill Variety’s Compassion Fund for the year.   Families often face financial... Read more
Friday, October 27, 2017
Fareway Stores, Inc. recently conducted a round up at the register to support Variety – the Children’s Charity. Donations were collected from Monday, Oct. 2 through Saturday, Oct.... Read more
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Fareway Stores, Inc. has partnered with Variety – the Children’s Charity to conduct the third annual round up at the register from Monday, October 2 through Saturday, October... Read more
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Variety - the Children’s Charity is granting $2,428,257 to 70 Iowa children’s charities this year. Today, 54 charities will receive their grants at the Fred Maytag II Scout... Read more
Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Variety- the Children’s Charity will be awarding 150 bikes, locks and helmets to underprivileged and at-risk children during RAGBRAI 2017.     As part of Variety’s Bikes for Kids program, Variety has teamed up... Read more